Theresa May’s (non) Cabinet Reshuffle( So-far)

Weakened and humbled by the results of an uncalled for election, but she unwisely called, the Prime Minister Theresa May couldnt do much about changing cabinet posts or changing ministers. She kept most. She moved them in musical chairs fashion, but didn’t touch the four main offices, nor education or even health secretary  despite jeremy hunt’s increasing unpopularity within the NHS. She couldn’t also change the chancellor Philip Hammond despite his gaffs, u-turns and miscalculation. She is even too weak to purge the cabinet of Cameron-Osborne regime as she kept Sajid Javid who s a close ally of George Osborne on the day the latter called her “ a dead woman walking on the Marr show.  The only positive gesture is bringing in committed brexiteers like Michael Gove in the environment .

Here is a full list of the cabinet by Sunday evening:

Rt Hon Theresa May, Prime Minister and First Lord of the Treasury.

Philip Hammond – Chancellor of the Exchequer .

Boris Johnson

Boris Johnson  –  Secretary of State for Foreign And Commonwealth Office.

Amber Rudd – Home Secretary.

Amber Rudd

David Davis – Secretary of State for Leaving the European Union.

Sir  Michael Fallon – Secretary of State for Defence.

Michael Gove – Secretary of State for the Environment.

Dr Liam Fox – Secretary of State for International Trade.

Greg Clark – Business Secretary.

Justine Greening

Justine Greening – Secretary of State for Education, Minister for Women and Equalities.


Priti Patel – International Development Secretary. 

Alun Cairns – Welsh Secretary.

Karen Bradley & Patrick McLohlin

Jeremy Hunt, Secretary of State for Health.

Jeremy Hunt

David Lidington – Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice.

Sajid Javid Secretary of State for Communities and Local governments.

Chief Whip – Gavin Williamson.

Andrea Leadsom – Leader of the House of Commons.

Chris Grayling – Secretary of State for Transport .

David Gauke – Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.

James Broken shire – Northern Ireland Secretary.

Karen Bradley –  Secretary of State for Media Culture and Sports.

Jeremy Wright – Attorney General.

Baroness Natali Evans – Lord Privy Seal; Leader of the House of Lords.

Sir Patrick McLoughlin – Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Conservative Party chairman.

Damian Green – First Secretary of State and Cabinet Office Minister.

Liz Truss

Liz Truss – Chief Secretary to the Treasury.

Brandon Lewis will become a Home Office minister, working under Amber Rudd.

David Mundell – Secretary of State for Scotland.